A-Z Databases

The Academic Film Archive of North America primarily contains historically significant academic and documentary films that have been preserved and made freely available online.

Annual Reviews publications have the potential to become open access (OA) volumes if there are enough paying subscribers. Browse the title list to check whether current issues of a specific title are freely available.

Titles cover subject areas in the sciences and social sciences.

ArXiv is a preprint repository in physics, math, computer science and related disciplines enabling scientists worldwide to share and access research before it is formally published.

Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review.

Searching here includes resources in Business Source Elite and Business Source Complete.

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing and allied health database. It links to most of the other nursing-related subscription databases.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases that brings together relevant research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions. It contains the world’s largest collection of full-text systematic reviews and citations for randomized controlled trials.

The Cornell East Asia Book Series is a collection of e-books, in searchable, downloadable format. These titles were originally published in the Cornell East Asia Series.

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) provides reports to members of Congress and congressional staff. These reports are intended to provide information on a particular topic relevant to Congress in a concise manner. They may include links, citations, and other copyrighted material.

Data.ed.gov is managed by the U.S. Department of Education and provides accessibility to the public data profiles. This open data catalog brings together the Department’s data assets in a single location, making them available with their metadata, documentation, and APIs for use by the public.

The Digital Book Index, according to their website, "provides links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites." This collection can be searched by author, title, subject, or publisher in addition to keyword searching.

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) includes digital materials from across the United States. It collects items from libraries, archives, and other cultural repositories in the United States and makes them searchable in a single location.

The Directory of Open Access Books is a collection of academic, peer-reviewed books available freely online. Books can be browsed by subject, language, and publisher or searched by keyword, title, and author.

The Directory of Open Access Journals is an online directory that indexes peer-reviewed journals that are open access or otherwise available freely online.

Search dissertations and theses published by ProQuest by Mount Mercy University students.

Search all of (or a combination of) EBSCO's databases.

Search dissertations and theses indexed by EBSCO from different institutions. Depending upon the particular copy, it may be available freely online through that university's digital repository.

This database includes free selected readings and resources by Routledge for educators.

EBSCO version of ERIC; content included matches ERIC database available through the website version. Some full text access links directly to the website.

Website version of ERIC; content included matches ERIC database available through EBSCO.

This free database contains context and solutions-oriented points of view within a scholarly collection of proprietary and licensed content on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government of the United States.

Green’s Dictionary of Slang is the largest historical dictionary of English slang. The online dictionary offers advanced search tools enabling search by definition and history, and an expanded bibliography of slang sources from the early modern period to the present day.

Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, History (HEARTH) is a collection of books and journals in Home Economics, dating from 1850 to 1950.

The International Labor Organization (ILO) database of labor statistics provides multiple datasets and with annual and infra-annual labor market statistics for over 100 indicators and 230 countries, areas and territories.

The Internet Archive eBook Collection is a collection of freely downloadable books and texts from across the world.

Part of the Internet Archive, the Moving Image Archive includes thousands of digitized media that ranges from full-length features to news broadcasts. The collection has been subdivided into smaller, curated collections such as movies, television, classic tv, sci-fi/horror, and animation & cartoons.

Full content from 1998. Instructions for off-campus access are here.

This subset of JSTOR searches only their open access content. It includes a collection of books and journal articles on a variety of topics.

Over 10,000 featured titles for college and university audiences.

LatAm Plus provides access to over 50 open access journals published in Central and South America, focusing on the humanities and social sciences.

The Legal Information Institute is an online database that provides law and legal information freely online. In addition to reading about legal topics, recent Supreme Court rulings and Executive Orders are available as soon as they are published.

Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary resources dating from the antebellum period to reconstruction. It includes books and journal articles from around this time.

MEDLINE with full text is a database focusing on medical information including topics related to nursing, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.

MedPix is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata.

MedRxiv is a free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences.

Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information.

This is the campus' digital repository and hosts research and creative projects completed by the MMU community.

MuckRock offers free access to information obtained via U.S. Freedom of Information Act requests. According to the website: "MuckRock is a non-profit, collaborative news site that brings together journalists, researchers, activists, and regular citizens to request, analyze, and share government documents, making politics more transparent and democracies more informed."

The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes reports of the National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine.

The New York Times requires individual accounts be set up. Instructions on how to do this can be found under "How Do I" on the Library page in Brightspace.

The NYPL Digital Collection is a growing database of digitized items from the New York Public Library's collections. Included in the collection are prints, photographs, manuscripts, and video footage.

The Online Books Page provides access to books that are freely readable online. It is searchable by author, title, and subject.

The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), a unit of the Office of Science, collects, preserves, and disseminates both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information emanating from DOE-funded research and development activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide. This database includes scientific and technical research results related to subjects such as chemistry, physics, environmental science, and computer science.

The Ovid Nursing Database offers peer-reviewed journals in medicine, nursing and health professions, behavioral sciences, and basic sciences.

The Plant List of Accepted Nomenclature, Taxonomy, and Symbols (PLANTS) database created by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) provides information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

Proceedings of Science (PoS) provides a collection of conference proceedings in areas of Astronomy, Biophysics, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physics and Science Communication.

The RAND Corporation compiles research and reports on topics such as security, law, business, health, education, sustainability, growth, and development.

Regional Business News by EBSCO includes more than 80 publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Science Direct by Elsevier offers articles from peer-reviewed journals related to scientific, technical, and medical research.

From the website, "Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results."

SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

The Avalon Project by Yale offers documents related to law, history, and diplomacy from different countries through the centuries.

Full content from 1998. Instructions for off-campus access are here.

The U.S. Census Bureau provides access to the census data they collect. The site provides several ways to search the data, including browsing via topics.

From the website, "UN Data is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade."

From the website, "The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 53 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives."

Unsplash offers a large library of freely usable images.

Webopedia is an online dictionary that provides definitions and contextual information on tech terms including those related to online security and the computer science field as a whole.

World Bank provides statistics and data on reporting countries including population and GDP. Data comes from the statistical systems of member countries and the quality of global data depends on how well these national systems perform.

The World Digital Library (WDL) contains a collection of items from libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations around the world. Included in this collection are significant historical documents such as manuscripts, maps, newspapers, photographs, and sound recordings. Items are presented in their original language.

The World Factbook lists country profiles for each nation, including history, people, government, economy, military, industry, flags, and maps.

The World Health Organization (WHO) is a United Nations agency that connects nations, partners, and people to promote health, keep the world safe and serve the vulnerable. This website includes information and fact sheets on health topics as well as WHO publications.

WorldCat Discovery allows you to search our library collection and libraries worldwide.