Open Educational Resources (OER): Find OER

   ("Open" flickr image;  CC by-SA-2.0)

Open textbooks reflect free, online learning materials with Creative Commons licenses. Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each will have a particular focus, and items you can't find in other collections.  The following list offers textbooks, open journals, and other resource repositories of interest.  

• BC Campus Open Ed: Gateway to general OE materials, as well as textbooks and other course materials; Canadian school system focus.
• Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB):   Portal to academic publishers with over 62,000 licensed books.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ):  Pathfinder to freely available, peer reviewed literature (and publications. Global coverage; information for authors.
• LibreTexts: Subject doorway to freely licensed textbooks and instruction materials.
• Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) Open Textbooks:   Search for OER based on discipline, material type, audience, mobile platform, and other parameters. All resources reviewed and curated by California State University.
• OER Commons:  Pathfinder to OER; offers search by audience and educational standards
• OpenStax:   Rice University's well-known peer-reviewed open textbook project. Features resources for students and instructors.
• Open Textbook Library:   University of Minnesota's gateway to free college textbooks. Busse library is a member of the Open Education Network. 
• OpenTextbookStore:   A free collection of mathematics-related open textbooks. Includes supplements and a link to order print copies of the book. 
• Pressbooks: Popular higher education, book publishing platform. University-affiliated licenses enable faculty to create/publish OER.
• Saylor Academy:   Collection of freely available open textbooks for download, online reading, and sharing.
• Textbook Equity:   Creator, publisher, distributor, and seller of open textbooks and ancillary materials to college-level students.

 (Pixabay; CC BY-NC-SA )

OER repositories contain more than just open textbooks.  All content featured within these pages is free but usage rights vary. Materials in these repositories are released under a Creative Commons license while some are in the public domain.

• AMSER (Applied Math and Science Education Repository)   Portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in community and technical Colleges.MERLOT II   Free, peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials maintained by the California State University System.
• California Open Online Library for Education (Cool4Ed)   Library of free open source textbooks and other materials from the State of California Higher Educations Systems.
• Internet Archive   Contains downloadable free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities across the globe.

• OER Commons   Funded by ISKME, OER Commons is a library of OER materials containing over 50,000 high-quality OER.

• Open Education Global   Free and open collection of high-quality learning materials presented in the form of courses.

• Openstax CNX (formerly Connexions)   Contains textbooks, articles, supplements, and other learning resources that can be read online or downloaded for free.

• The OrangeGrove   Florida's digital repository for instructional resources.

• Flickr (Use CC License filter)

• TED Talks

• The Met Open Access Collection

• Unsplash

• Wikimedia Commons

• YouTube (Use CC License filter                                                  (​​​​​​Pixabay;  CC BY-NC-SA)

 (Created by Adrienne Yancey for opensource.com; Flickr)

• Lumen Learning

  Supports faculty in identifying and selecting high quality OER, aligning these to learning outcomes, and assembling them to create OER-based courses.

• MIT OpenCourseware

  A web-based publication of materials from thousands of MIT courses. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

• Open Course Library

  A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse and download.

• Saylor Academy

 (Flickr image license: CC-By-NC-ND 2.0)

• The American Yawp --U.S. history.
• CK-12 --Math, Science, etc.
• CTE Online --Career Technical Education.
• The Noba Project --Psychology.
• PhET Interactive Simulations --Science and math.

• Skills Commons -- Career Technical education.

• Writing Commons -- English and writing.