Take advantage of our new OER and Textbook Affordability Consultation service.
("Open Educational Resources - OER Venn diagram" by Eugene Open Educational Resources is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.)
Contact the library, and our staff will work with you to find open or low-cost options for your required texts. Give all students a better chance at success with more equitable and accessible options.
Busse Library Hours, 2025 Spring Semester
January 27- May 9
|
Monday-Wednesday: 8am-10pm Thursday: 8am-7pm Friday: 8am-4:30pm NOTE: Busse Library is closed on weekends. An MMU ID card is required for access after 5pm. Contact Information: Phone: 319-368-6465 |
Typically used for a Principles of Accounting course. Introduces accounting principles with respect to financial reporting. Demonstrates how decision makers use accounting information for reporting purposes. Focuses on the preparation of accounting information and its use in the operation of organizations, as well as methods of analysis and interpretation of accounting information.
Managerial Accounting was written around three major themes: Ready, Reinforcement and Relevance. This book is aimed squarely at the new learning styles evident with today’s students and addresses accounting industry changes as well.
Uses annual reports of real companies to illustrate many of the accounting concepts in use in business today.
Good resource on introductory financial accounting.
The history of Art is long and varied, spanning tens of thousands of years from ancient paintings on the walls of caves to the glow of computer-generated images on the screens of the 21st century.
From Lumen Learning, a course on art appreciation.
Offers a comprehensive introduction to the world of Art with up-to-date original scholarship. It includes over 400 high-quality images illustrating the history of art, its technical applications, and its many uses. Combining the best elements of both a traditional textbook and a reader, it introduces such issues in art as its meaning and purpose; its meaning and purpose; its structure, material, and form; and its diverse effects on our lives.
An exposition of the philosophy, principles, and materials of music from the Baroque Period to contemporary period with illustrative examples from the Baroque Period, Classical Period, Romantic Period, Contemporary Classical Music and Popular Music.
An open-source, interactive, online “text”book for college-level music theory courses. Supports active student engagement with music in the theory classroom. That means that this text is meant to take a back seat to student music making (and breaking).
Designed to help students listen. This course encourages students to be self-reliant--to get up close to the music, without mediation or interference.
Introduction to works representative of a variety of music traditions. These include the repertoires of Western Europe from the Middle Ages through the present; of the United States, including art music, jazz, folk, rock, musical theater; and from at least two non-Western world areas.
Explores basic music theory so thoroughly that the interested student will then be able to easily pick up whatever further theory is wanted. Music history and the physics of sound are included to the extent that they shed light on music theory.
Explanations (suitable for any age) of the basic elements of music, with suggested activities for introducing the each concept to children at early elementary school level. The course may be used by instructors not trained in music; all necessary definitions and explanations are included.
Covers the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens.
Designed for the typical introductory biology course for non-majors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements.
A dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements.
Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health.
A one- (evolving into two) semester introductory course on the evolutionary, molecular, genetic, genomic & systems foundations of modern biology
Focuses on experimental support for what we know about cell and molecular biology. Written to serve as the introductory biology course for biology majors with high school chemistry and biology prerequisites as well as for “gateway” cell and molecular biology courses for students with a college-level general biology and general chemistry course background.
An introduction to biology intended for non-majors. Focus areas include chemical foundations, cell structure and division, genetics and evolution.
Textbook designed for an introductory level business course. This work is a project of the Pamplin College of Business, Virginia Tech.
Provides a comprehensive discussion of business concepts that introduces the student to the fundamentals that is part of Lumen Learning courseware.
Designed to introduce students to the essential concepts of business and other organizations. Focus is on small, entrepreneurial start-ups, and expanding the discussion in each chapter to include issues that are faced in larger organizations when it is appropriate to do so.
Provides context and essential concepts across the entire range of legal issues with which managers and business executives must grapple. The text provides the vocabulary and legal acumen necessary for business people to talk in an educated way to their customers, employees, suppliers, government officials—and to their own lawyers.
Designed with a “less can be more” approach, and treats small business management as a practical human activity rather than as an abstract theoretical concept.
Provides exploration into building, leading, and thriving in global organizations in an increasingly flat world.
Covers the broad spectrum of legal issues that entrepreneurs must understand when starting and running a business.
Exploring Business is adapted from a work produced and distributed under a Creative Commons license (CC BY-NC-SA) in 2010 by a publisher who has requested that they and the original author not receive attribution. This adapted edition is produced by the University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing through the eLearning Support Initiative.
Written by three Chemistry professors for the one-semester General, Organic and Biological Chemistry course. The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course.
Chemistry is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. Students earn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them.
This title is an adaptation of the OpenStax Chemistry text and covers scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. Introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, delaying the introduction of more abstract material so students have time to acclimate to the study of chemistry.
An introduction to the basic concepts of chemistry, including atomic structure and bonding, chemical reactions, and solutions. Other topics covered include gases, thermodynamics, kinetics and equilibrium, thermodynamics, redox, and chemistry of the elements.
Represents a step in the evolution of the general chemistry text that reflects the increasing overlap between chemistry and other disciplines. Discusses exciting and relevant aspects of biological, environmental, and materials science usually relegated to the last few chapters, and provides a format that allows the instructor to tailor the emphasis to the needs of the class.
Written by David W. Ball of Cleveland State University, this book is intended for a one-semester introductory or preparatory chemistry course.
Written by William Reusch, this virtual textbook allows for visualization of 3D-molecular models while teaching principles of Organic Chemistry.
The world’s first and only open content organic
chemistry textbook written by a team of experts and chemistry professors from Cleveland State University and other institutions.
A textbook for a two-semester, sophomore-level course in Organic Chemistry in which biological chemistry takes center stage. For the most part, the text covers the core concepts of organic structure, structure determination, and reactivity in the standard order. What is different is the context: biological chemistry is fully integrated into the explanation of central principles, and as much as possible the in-chapter and end-of-chapter problems are taken from the biochemical literature.
Condenses and covers everything a beginning writing student needs to successfully compose college-level work, including the basics of composition, grammar, and research. Great for any beginning writing students or as reference for advanced students.
Provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.
Provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition.
Allows students to develop effective written communication strategies specifically for the workplace. From idea gathering to drafting to delivery, this course will prepare students to write a variety of documents, including memos, letters, and reports, tailored to professional audiences.
Provides resources for first-year college students on the path to academic and life success. Time management, effective methods of communication, career exploration, and practical tools for academic achievement are a few of the topic areas covered.
Designed for beginning-intermediate English language learners. It is composed of 7 chapters, each of which covers specific speaking and listening learning objectives and includes dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities.
Contains an anthology of readings for Composition I course.
Introduces students to the writing process as a means of developing ideas into clear, correct, and effective writing.
A reader and rhetoric that champions the possibilities of student writing. The textbook uses actual student writing to exemplify effective writing strategies, celebrating dedicated college writing students to encourage and instruct their successors: the students in your class.
Composition I focuses on principles of writing, critical reading and essay composition using rhetorical styles common in college-level writing (narrative, example/illustration, compare/contrast, cause-and-effect, argument).
Teaches research skills by emphasizing the development of advanced analytical/critical reading skills, proficiency in investigative research, and the writing of persuasive prose including documented and researched argumentative essays.
Introduces various aspects of student and academic life on campus and prepares readers to thrive as a successful college student. Contains true-to-life short stories from actual State University of New York (SUNY) students, employees, and alumni. The advice they share includes a variety of techniques to help students cope with the demands of college.
Presents a different way of teaching writing to students. The method is “writing with the teacher present” or simply students doing ALL their writing in class. This way of teaching writing is more like athletic practice than class. Students practice writing while the coach (professor or instructor) was around to break steps down into smaller and smaller elements and to help them learn the skills “in real time.
This book is useful to teachers who want to convey their passion for literature to their students. After an introductory chapter that offers advice on how to read (and teach) literature, the book consists of a series of chapters that examine individual literary works ranging from The Iliad to Charles Dickens’ Bleak House. These chapters can not substitute for reading the actual works. Rather they are intended to help students read those works.
Designed for use as a textbook in first-year college composition programs, written as a practical guide for students struggling to bring their writing up to the level expected of them by their professors and instructors.
Focuses on the organization, development, and refinement of technical communications. Internal and external communications, including letters, memos, reports, and presentations are included.
An interactive, multimedia text that introduces students to reading and writing at the college level.
Free, comprehensive, peer-reviewed, award-winning Open Text for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research.
Provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition.
Designed for students who have largely mastered high-school level conventions of formal academic writing and are now moving beyond the five-paragraph essay to more advanced engagement with text. It is well suited to composition courses or first-year seminars and valuable as a supplemental or recommended text in other writing-intensive classes. It provides a friendly, down-to-earth introduction to professors’ goals and expectations, demystifying the norms of the academy and how they shape college writing assignments.
Topics in this volume include academic writing, how to interpret writing assignments, motives for writing, rhetorical analysis, revision, invention, writing centers, argumentation, narrative, reflective writing, Wikipedia, patchwriting, collaboration, and genres.
Topics in this volume include rhetorical situation, collaboration, documentation styles, weblogs, invention, writing assignment interpretation, reading critically, information literacy, ethnography, interviewing, argument, document design, and source integration.
The American Yawp offers a free and online, collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for college-level history courses. All contributors—experienced college-level instructors—volunteer their expertise to help democratize the American past for twenty-first century classrooms.
Designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most introductory courses. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). U.S. History covers key forces that form the American experience, with particular attention to issues of race, class, and gender.
This book puts a strong emphasis on critical thinking about US History by providing several key features in each chapter. Learning Objectives at the beginning of each chapter help students to understand what they will learn in each chapter. Before You Move On sections at the end of each main section are designed to encourage students to reflect on important concepts and test their knowledge as they read. In addition, each chapter includes Critical Thinking Exercises that ask the student to deeply explore chapter content.
This online textbook is one of a series of three. It begins by describing Native American Society as it was directly before colonization. This text comprehensively discusses, all topics of American history up to the turn of the twenty first century.
Beginning with the nature of government, this text covers all of the main topics of government including federalism, congress, bureaucracy, and civil rights.
Covers whole numbers, fractions, decimals, percents, ratios and proportions, measurement, and integers. Geometry and statistics are integrated throughout the text rather than covered in independent sections. The textbook does not include exercises. Instead, a collection of handouts/worksheets is available, as well as online homework.
Textbook that covers the traditional study in a modern prealgebra course, as well as the topics of estimation, elementary analytic geometry, and introductory algebra.
Designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for a one-semester prealgebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text introduces the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles.
Provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra course. The modular approach and richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses.
An introductory text for a college algebra survey course. The material is presented at a level intended to prepare students for Calculus while also giving them relevant mathematical skills that can be used in other classes.
This textbook is used by the Department of Mathematics at College of the Redwoods in Eureka, California for instructional purposes in their Math 120 course, Intermediate Algebra.
Written in a clear and concise manner, it carefully builds on the basics learned in Elementary Algebra and introduces the more advanced topics required for further study in applications found in most disciplines.
Adaptable and designed to fit the needs of a variety of precalculus courses. It is a comprehensive text that covers more ground than a typical one- or two-semester college-level precalculus course.
Designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. Volume 1 covers functions, limits, derivatives, and integration.
Volume 2 covers integration, differential equations, sequences and series, and parametric equations and polar coordinates.
Volume 3 covers parametric equations and polar coordinates, vectors, functions of several variables, multiple integration, and second-order differential equations.
This text comprises a three–text series on Calculus. The 1st part covers material taught in many “Calc 1” courses: limits, derivatives, and the basics of integration. The 2nd text covers material often taught in “Calc 2:” integration and its applications, along with an introduction to sequences, series and Taylor Polynomials. The 3rd text covers topics common in “Calc 3” or “multivariable calc:” parametric equations, polar coordinates, vector–valued functions, and functions of more than one variable.
Actively engages students in learning the subject through an activity-driven approach in which the vast majority of the examples are completed by students. Where many texts present a general theory of calculus followed by substantial collections of worked examples, we instead pose problems or situations, consider possibilities, and then ask students to investigate and explore.
A brief course in differential and integral calculus, with applications focused on business and the life and social sciences.
A first course in ordinary differential equations. Written for students in science, engineering, and mathematics who have completed calculus through partial differentiation.
An introductory textbook aimed at college-level sophomores and juniors. Typically students will have taken calculus, but it is not a prerequisite. The book begins with systems of linear equations, then covers matrix algebra, before taking up finite-dimensional vector spaces in full generality.
Presents an introduction to the fascinating subject of linear algebra. As the title suggests, this text is designed as a first course in linear algebra for students who have a reasonable understanding of basic algebra. Major topics of linear algebra are presented in detail, with proofs of important theorems provided.
This text is intended for a brief introductory course in plane geometry. It covers the topics from elementary geometry that are most likely to be required for more advanced mathematics courses. The emphasis is on applying basic geometric principles to the numerical solution of problems.
This textbook covers topics such as taxes, gross earnings, product prices, currency exchange; loans, lines of credit, mortgages, leases, savings bonds, and other financial tools. It also discusses how to execute smart monetary decisions both personally and for their business.
Meets standard scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory algebra-based physics course. The text is grounded in real-world examples to help students grasp fundamental physics concepts.
A calculus-based physics textbook meant for the type of freshman survey course taken by engineering and physical science majors, or for AP Physics C. It uses a nontraditional order of topics, with energy coming before force.
An entertaining and free e-book on physics – the science of motion. Comes in 6 volumes: 1) Fall, Flow and Heat; 2) relativity and Cosmology; 3) Light, Charges, and Brains; 4) the Quantum of Change; 5) Pleasure, Technology,and Stars; 6) The Strand Model-A Speculation on Unification.
An introduction to the nature of the universe. Use it to research or review our solar system, stars, galaxies, and the history of the universe. Each chapter has a set of corresponding homework questions.
An introductory book on astronomy. Still in draft form and final book version coming soon.
Designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders.
Written by Lansing Community College Psychology professor Dr. Mark Kelland, covers general personality theory, with an emphasis on cultural aspects affecting personality development. There is also a section focusing on making positive choices in the development of one's personality from a number of different cultural/philosophical perspectives.
This resource is an interactive learning material for the PSYC 175 Death and Dying course at Lansing Community College. It contains materials created by faculty teaching the course as well as useful links and resources that enable students to have a better understanding of the many different facets of this discipline.
This resource is an interactive learning material for the PSYC 250 Abnormal Psychology course at Lansing Community College. It contains materials created by faculty teaching the course as well as useful links and resources that enable students to have a better understanding of the many different facets of this discipline.
Presents core concepts common to introductory courses. The 15 units cover the traditional areas of intro-to-psychology; ranging from biological aspects of psychology to psychological disorders to social psychology.
Comprehensive coverage of core concepts grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research, including coverage of the DSM-5 in discussions of psychological disorders. Incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe.
Utilizes the dual theme of behavior and empiricism to make psychology relevant to intro students. Charles wrote this book to help students organize their thinking about psychology at a conceptual level.
Represents the entire catalog of Noba topics. It contains 90 learning modules covering every area of psychology commonly taught in introductory courses.
Provides students with an introduction to the basic concepts and principles of social psychology from an interactionist perspective. The presentation of classic studies and theories are balanced with insights from cutting-edge, contemporary research.
Provides standard introduction to psychology course content with a specific emphasis on social aspects of psychology. This includes expanded content related to social cognition, aggression, attraction and similar topics.
Provides standard introduction to psychology course content with a specific emphasis on biological aspects of psychology. This includes more content related to neuroscience methods, the brain and the nervous system.
Our OER LibGuide is based on one shared by Loras College Library,.which was, in turn, adapted from Lansing Community College (LCC) Library Research Guide on Open Educational Resources (OER) by Regina Gong.